What do you need to know about IPL?

IPL was launched by the Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008, while it is also called the brainchild of Lalit Modi. He was the founder and former commissioner of this league.

The launch of the IPL As time goes on, things change, so do people, nature, and sports. During the colonial period, the British also brought the game, cricket, with them to India. The common man showed little interest in this Gentleman's Game in a white uniform. The game did not change with the passage of time, but new forms of it came to the fore. Cricket became very popular in the 1970s. Cricket matches used to end after 5 days, but after the arrival of T20, there are 60 matches in a month and a half. This made the IPL interesting and popular. Top IPL Matches - you can always revisit while you wait for the next season.

Every country has a national cricket tournament. Similar to the Lanka Premier League, Pakistan Premier League, BBL, the T20 competitions held in India are known as IPL, that is Indian Premier League. It is the most expensive competition in the world, run by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. It involves teams representing eight states in India.

When is the IPL held?

It is held annually in April and May, and both foreign and Indian players participate. So far, 13 editions of IPL have been played. The competition is broadcast live in India and elsewhere in the world and its media rights are owned by Star Sports and Hotstar. Mumbai Indians have won the titles most often, while CSK (Chennai Super Kings) is in second place. Most of the IPL events were held in India, sometimes the venues were South Africa and Dubai for one reason or another.


The Indian Cricket League (ICL) was founded in 2007 with funding from Zee Entertainment Enterprises. The league was not recognized by either the Indian Cricket Control Board or the International Cricket Council. The Indian Council's displeasure did not prevent some members of its committee from joining the executive board of the ICL. To prevent players from joining the new league, the Board of Control of Cricket in India increased prize money at its tournaments and also disqualified players who joined the league for life.

On September 13, 2007, the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the launch of its own all-India Twenty20-format team competition called the Indian Premier League, with the first season scheduled for April 2008. Council Vice President Lalit Modi, speaking at a ceremony in New Delhi, said he was the mastermind behind the IPL, outlining details of the tournament, including its format, prize money, franchise revenue system and team composition rules. It was also announced that the IPL would be run by a seven-member governing board made up of former Indian players and BCCI officials, and that the top two teams in the Indian Premier League would qualify for the Twenty20 Champions League. Modi also explained that members had been working on the idea for two years and the launch of the IPL was not a reaction to the creation of the Indian Cricket League. The format of the league was similar to that of the American professional leagues.

To decide on the owners of the new league's teams, an auction was held on January 24, 2008, with base prices for franchises totaling about $400 million dollars. The auction resulted in the announcement of the winning bidders and the cities where the teams would be based: Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali and Mumbai. A total of $723.59 million in franchises were sold. The creation of a professional league under the auspices of the Board of Control for Cricket in India led to the Indian Cricket League closing already in 2009 after its second season.

On March 21, 2010, it was announced that two new franchises, Kochi Taskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India, would join the league in 2011. Sahara Adventure Sports Group bought the Pune franchise for $370 million, while Rendezvous Sports World bought the Kochi franchise for $333.3 million. However, a year later, on November 11, 2011, it was announced that the Kochi Taskers Kerala team would be expelled from the league for violating the terms of the Cricket Control Board of India.

Then, on September 14, 2012, the Cricket Control Board announced that the 2009 champions Dean Chargers were leaving the league because the team could not find new owners. On October 25 of that same year, 2012, an auction was held in which Sun TV Network became the new owner of the Hyderabad franchise. The new team was named Sunrisers Hyderabad.

On June 14, 2015, it was announced that the franchises of the two-time champions Chennai Super Kings and the inaugural season champions Rajasthan Royals would be suspended for two seasons because of their role in the betting scandal. On Dec. 8, 2015, an auction was held, with new franchises going to the winners. "Chennai" and "Rajasthan" replaced "Gujarat Lions" and "Rising Pune Superjacent" for two seasons.

Learn more about the sport here